Recessionists Final Poster

showoff

So I posted recently on how school taught design has similar links to professional design. I explained how the three examples of development required for the intermediate and higher exams are similar to the three ideas provided to a client for a choice of designs. I posted my designs and provided you with the client’s choice. Today I will show you the final draft of the poster and explain its construction. The first draft of the idea:

recessionists 3

The first draft had all the relevant ideas, though it didn’t have any illustrative skill or eye catching elements. It was a version to allow the client to picture what the final poster would convey. The final draft is below:

Recessionists Email Poster Final

As you can see, several things have changed. The client wished for the poster to be portrait, so the canvas was rotated. I have spent a little longer on the written and drawn pages in the poster, they contain a little more colour, skill and overall attractiveness. This doesn’t mean that I think they’re beautiful. It just means that they attract the eye to certain parts of the layout. The viewer’s eye is drawn down the poster, looking at each relevant piece of information, attracted to little pieces of red.

Sometimes as a designer you have to compromise your idea to keep the client happy, after all, if they’re are paying for it, they have the last say. You may feel that you have the skill and experience to argue against them, you may be right, though it is important to give your pride a back seat and provide a piece of work that the client wants. I had heard that although they liked my idea and were happy with it, they had hoped that the title was bigger and at the top of the poster, as well as lighting the image a little more. I decided that I would do this for them, as I new the image was to be printed billboard style and it would be easier for the printer.

Email Recess Billboard

There are things I don’t like about this version, though I can understand why they were requested. So there you go. How design works outside of school.

Leave a Reply

